BBC launches ambitious new diversity strategy

The BBC has today (28th April 2016) launched its ambitious new strategy that will hardwire diversity and inclusion into everything the Corporation does, on- and off-air. The bold plans – themed around our audiences, our people and our partnerships – build on the significant progress already made, and set out how­­­­­­­ the Corporation will do even more to… Read More »

Lammy to lead BAME review of Criminal Justice

The Prime Minister, David Cameron has asked David Lammy MP to lead a review to investigate evidence of possible bias and disproportionate sentencing of African, Caribbean and Asian defendants in the Criminal Justice System, as part of the Equality and Criminal Justice reform. David Lammy MP is to report back in spring of 2017. The Prime Minister said,… Read More »

Top 100 BAME Leaders in Business 2016

Raj Tulsiani of executive search firm Green Park, and Trevor Phillips OBE, launched the Top 100 Black and Minority Ethnic (BAME) Leaders in Business list at the House of Lords on 26th April 2016. The objective is to counter the belief among employers that there is insufficient BAME talent available. Trevor Phillips OBE, a member of the judging… Read More »

EHRC appoints new Chair and Commissioner

The Minister for Women and Equalities Nicky Morgan has today (26th April 2016) confirmed her decision to appoint David Isaac as the new Chair of the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC). The EHRC works to ensure we live in a country that upholds people’s rights, values diversity and challenges intolerance. They seek to maintain and strengthen this… Read More »

NUS elects its first Black Muslim woman President

Malia Bouattia has today (20th April 2016) been elected as the new president of the National Union of Students (NUS) at the annual National Conference in Brighton. Bouattia is the first Black Muslim woman president of NUS. Bouattia is the current NUS Black Students’ Officer, and was elected over rival candidates Megan Dunn, the current president of NUS,… Read More »

Asian women more likely to be running businesses

The recent HSBC Essence of Enterprise report found that Asian women are more likely than British women to be running businesses – only 28% of UK business owners worth more than £663,505 ($1m) are women, compared to 38% in the US. It also found that two in five entrepreneurs in Hong Kong, Singapore and mainland China are female… Read More »